Utterances of a Zimboe

Programming the Internet.

QoTD by Paul Graham

with 2 comments

Paul Graham about marketing:

Another advantage of telling the truth is that you don’t have to remember what you’ve said. You don’t have to keep any state in your head. It’s a purely functional business strategy.
— in Founders at Work, 2007

It was just wonderful that someone like Paul said it out loud so clear. I guess this is something many technical folks think about do, but some business credibility is of course needed for being able to state it plausibly. Furthermore, it would be just priceless if this kind of a message got across business culture, as then we could at last achieve peace between engineering and marketing… (or something.) Engineering can’t really learn the marketing way of promoting stuff as we would just be exaggerating ourselves more work and—more importantly—underrate our present results. But, as a more common adoption of honesty may be a couple cultural generations away, it was relieving for me already as it brought a little more confidence about honesty not necessarily bringing the dooms. Kind of a high-level permit for being honest. (As if I’d ever been doing anything else, but just thinking if there’s something wrong in being honest… Luckily not.)

Btw., that Founders at Work is a really fine book. A must read for all startuppers, at least. And I’d strongly suggest all programmers to read at least the Greenspun interview. That was just so to the point, even in kind of a raw way. Fabulous.

And back to startupping now..

PS. I’ve been a little quiet lately but I guess it shouldn’t be such a big a deal for either of you, my dear readers. I’ve had to nice (as in man) blogging a little in favor of hacking.. and I’m also a little short in subjects, as this stuff is just not yet worth blo/ragging about. But I hope I’ll get to that point soon enough and myself back into more active blogging. Hear ’bout ya.

Written by Janne Savukoski

March 30, 2007 at 3:44 pm

Posted in Business

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am ok with you being quiet, as long as it means that the revolution of WS will go on :D

    Miika Niemelä

    April 14, 2007 at 1:38 pm

  2. Ah yeah, I promise I’ll start screaming if anything goes awry. So you’re right by not worrying. :) While everything’s smooth we can just enjoy it. Life is good. And let’s enjoy this summer.

    And thanks for mentioning the WS revolution. You’ve really made a fine job by understanding what I’m pursuing. I can admit that it’s not a little feature to achieve from my less than clear explanations.. (For others: my job is not in creating the revolution, but I’m building on it; I’m already living the post-revolution time. Let’s just hope that it becomes eventually. The new era of the Internet.)

    A really fine comment. You have the greatest words.

    Janne Savukoski

    April 15, 2007 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

